2007 Archives

Speakers at May 17 'Day of Action' Rally in Washington, D.C.

Wed. May 16, 2007

Washington, D.C., May 16, 2007 – Speakers taking part in the May 17 “Day of Action” Rally on the National Mall in Washington, D.C., will include presidential candidates Sen. Hillary Clinton (D-NY), Sen. Joseph Biden, (D-DE) and Rep. Dennis Kucinich (D-OH). The mid-day rally, sponsored by the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAM), will also include remarks from more than a dozen members of Congress and union leaders from across the U.S.

Below is a partial list of speakers with approximate times they are expected to deliver their remarks.

12:00 noon      “Enough is Enough” program begins           
12:02 PM        IAM General Vice President Robert Roach, Jr., Welcome remarks
12:15 PM        IAM International President Tom Buffenbarger, Keynote address 
12:23 PM        Rich Trumka, AFL–CIO Secretary-Treasurer   
12:30 PM        Rep. Luis Gutierrez, (D-IL)
12:34 PM        Rep. John Sarbanes (D-MD) introduces Rep. George Miller
12:36 PM        Rep. George Miller (D-CA)
12:40 PM        Rep. Shelley Berkley (D-NV)
12:44 PM        Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-MD)
12:48 PM        Sen. Joe Biden (D-DE)
12:55 PM        Rep. James Oberstar (D-MN)
12:59 PM        Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)
1:03 PM          Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)
1:07 PM          Rep. Dennis Kucinich (D-OH)
1:19 PM          Sen. Tom Harkin (D-IA)
1:23 PM          Former Transportation Secretary Rodney Slater
1:28 PM          Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton (D-NY)
1:49 PM          Rep. Corrine Brown (D-FL)
1:57 PM          Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA) (Video)                   
2:00 PM          Sen. John Kerry (D-MA)
2:05 PM          Rep. Neil Abercrombie (D-HI)        
2:20 PM          New Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson (Video)             

For additional information about the rally, visit www.17may07.org