Convention Agenda

Day One
Sunday, September 19, 1:00 p.m.
Convention Hall Opens for Delegate Seating

2:00 p.m.

Call to Order
Phil Zannella, Jr.

Posting of Colors
Cincinnati Fire Department, Local 48, IAFF

National Anthems

Monsignor Thomas Diehl

Local Dignitaries Welcome
Ted Strickland, U.S. Representative
Alicia Reece, Vice Mayor of Cincinnati
Bill Burga, President, Ohio AFL-CIO
Dan Radford, Cincinnati Federation of Labor

Introduction of Permanent
Presiding Officer
Phil Zannella, Jr., Temporary Chairman

Presentation of Convention Gavels

Keynote Address
R. Thomas Buffenbarger
International President

Reading of the 2004 Official Call
Warren L. Mart
General Secretary-Treasurer

Committee Appointments

Committee Reports

Executive Council
Retired Council
Law Committee
Resolutions Committee

Day Two
Monday, September 20, 9:00 a.m.
Rabbi George Barnard

Tom Schlesinger, Financial Markets Center

Bruce Campbell, Canadian Center for Policy

Ed McElroy, President, American Federation
of Teachers

Kevin Grazier, Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Alan Skolnick, IAM Pension Fund

Blue Ribbon Commission III
Robert V. Thayer
General Vice President

Financial Report
Warren L. Mart
General Secretary-Treasurer

Day Three
Tuesday, September 21, 9:00 a.m.
Sherry Gale, Nast-Trinity Methodist Church

Roundtable Forum with International
Labor Leaders
Mark Shields, Moderator

Reinhard Kuhlmann, General Secretary, European
Metalworkers’ Federation

Anita Normark, General Secretary, International
Federation of Building and Wood Workers

David Cockroft, General Secretary, International
Transport Workers’ Federation

Stefan Lofven, Vice President, Svenska Metall

Marcello Malentacchi, General Secretary,
International Metalworkers’ Federation

Barry Bluestone, Northeastern University

Dick Gephardt, U.S. House of Representatives

John Sweeney, President, AFL-CIO

Jack Layton, New Democratic Party Leader,

Bill Lucy, President, Coalition of Black
Trade Unionists

7:00 – 9:00 p.m.
Old Fashioned Political Rally
Cincinnati Convention Center, Hall C

Day Four
Wednesday, September 22, 9:00 a.m.
Reverend March Schmieder

Roundtable Forum on National
Health Insurance

Heather Boushey, Center for Economic and Policy
Research, Moderator

Dr. Jonathon Ross, Physicians for a National
Health Program

James Clancy, National President, National
Union of Public and General Employees

Cheryl Johnson, President, United American

Roundtable Forum on Capital Strategies

Robert Kuttner, The American Prospect,

Denise Nappier, Treasurer, State of Connecticut

David Wilhelm, Hopewell Ventures

Day Five
Thursday, September 23, 9:00 a.m.

Karen Dabdoub, Cincinnati Council on
American-Islamic Relations

Charles Luken, Cincinnati Mayor

Fireside Chat
Charlie Micallef, WWW Center, Moderator
Roger Hare, Retired IAM Member
Bill Holayter, Retired IAM Member
Ursula Diaz, Retired IAM Member

John J. Gilligan, former Ohio Governor

Bill Press, Political Analyst, MSNBC

George Kourpias, President, Alliance for
Retired Americans

Dr. Stephen Levin, Mt. Sinai Hospital

Kevin Smith, Chairman of GKN Industries

Wayne LaPierre, National Rifle Association

Tom Vilsack, Iowa Governor

Day Six
Friday, September 24, 9:00 a.m.

Coet Combs, Special Assistant to the GST

Steve Sleigh, Director, Strategic Resources

John Lewis, U.S. House of Representatives

Jim Leslie, Director, WWW

Jay Bormann, President, Guide Dogs of America

Gordon England, Secretary of the Navy

Rodney Slater, former Secretary of

Cecile Richards, President, America Votes

Day Seven
Saturday, September 25, 9:00 a.m.

Unfinished Business

Closing Remarks
R. Thomas Buffenbarger, International President

If you have any questions, please call or email Frank Larkin: 202-285-3831