March 24, 2010

Ms. Nancy Hogan Special Assistant to the President and Director of Presidential Personnel 1800 G Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20502

Dear Ms. Hogan:

On March 25, 2009, in accordance with the provisions of the Railroad Retirement Act, Rail Labor submitted the name of Virgil M. Speakman, Jr., for re-nomination as the Labor Member of the Railroad Retirement Board. Mr. Speakman has honorably served as Rail Labor's representative on the Board since August 1992. During his tenure, Mr. Speakman has overseen the development and implementation of several key pieces of legislation which have greatly improved the benefit structure of our Retirement, Survivor, and Unemployment/Sickness Insurance programs while also securing the future financing for those programs. Moreover, through Mr. Speakman's direct efforts, the Railroad Retirement Board continues to receive the highest marks among all government agencies in overall customer service satisfaction.

To date, we have heard nothing regarding the status of Mr. Speakman's reappointment. Therefore, on behalf of the undersigned Rail Labor Chiefs, I respectfully request a status of Mr. Speakman's nomination. Rail Labor views this nomination as key to the continued security of our Railroad Retirement System and the protection it provides active and retired railroad workers and their families.

F. L. McCann, President American Train Dispatchers Association

Telli N. Ser

Freddie N. Simpson, President Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employes Division

Sincerely,

Paul Sorrow, National President Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen

Robert Roach, Jr., General Vice President International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers

Dan Hamilton, Director Railroad Division International Brotherhood of Boilermakers

B. Lack Deren 2

Dewey B. Garland, Director of Railroad' and Shipyard Workers Sheet Metal Workers' International Association

Mike B. Futhey, Jr., International President United Transportation Union

Edwin Hill, International President International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

George J. Francisco, Jr., President National Conference of Firemen & Oilers District of Local 32BJ, SEIU

C

Japaes C. Little, International President Transport Workers Union

Robert A. Sourdelletti, International President Transportation Communications International Union

"ickets an 1

W. Dan Pickett, International President Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen

cc: Edward Wytkind, President – Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO