

June 23, 2010

TO: TTD EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

FR: Edward Wytkind, President

RE: Senate Confirmation of Key Administration Appointments

As you may know a number of Administration appointments were confirmed yesterday by the Senate. Since several of the nominations are transportation related, I wanted to provide you with an update on those nominees.

David Matsuda, who served as the Acting Administrator of the Maritime Administration (MARAD), has been confirmed as the Administrator of the MARAD – a position which he was endorsed for by TTD. Previously David served as the Deputy Maritime Administrator, Acting Assistant Secretary for Transportation Policy at the Department of Transportation, senior counsel and primary transportation advisor to Senator Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ), staff of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation, and spent four years (1998-2002) working as an attorney in the safety law division of the Federal Railroad Administration.

The Senate also confirmed three appointments to the Amtrak Board. Jeffrey Moreland, most recently executive vice president for public affairs at BNSF, and Anthony Coscia (supported by Sen. Lautenberg), most recently Chairman of the Board of Commissioners of the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, have both been confirmed as Directors for five year terms. Albert DiClemente, who formerly served as the Vice President of CB Richard Ellis, Inc. and as the State Director for Senator Biden in Wilmington, DE, has been confirmed as an Amtrak Board member for the remainder of the term expiring July 26, 2011.

Two nominees were confirmed to the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB). Mark Rosekind, formerly president and chief scientist of California-based Alertness Solutions, was reappointed to be a Member of the NTSB for a term expiring December 31, 2014. Dr. Earl Weener, most recently a fellow at the Flight Safety Institute, has been confirmed as a Member of the NTSB for the remainder of the term expiring December 31, 2010 and concurrently for a term expiring December 31, 2015.

We will of course keep you informed of other pending nominees that are confirmed or other transportation related appointments made by the Administration.

Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO

888 16th Street NW / Suite 650 / Washington DC 20006 Tel:202.628.9262 / Fax:202.628.0391 / www.ttd.org Edward Wytkind, President / Larry I. Willis, Secretary-Treasurer

