Transportation Alternatives • NYPIRG Straphangers Campaign
Pratt Center for Community Development • Environmental Defense Fund
Tri-State Transportation Campaign • PCAC to the MTA • New York League of Conservation Voters
TWU Local 252 • New York State Council of Machinists • ATU Local 1181 • Metro North Labor Council
NCFO/SEIU32BJ • Bridge and Tunnel Officers Benevolent Association • ATU Local 1056
TWU Local 100 • IAMAW LL 754 • DC 37 Local 375 • Reinvent Albany
Drum Major Institute for Public Policy • Citizens Committee for New York City
SSOBA • IBT Local 808 • ATU Local 726 • UTU Local 1440 • Regional Plan Association
New York City League of Women Voters • Transportation Communications Union
Center for Working Families • Natural Resources Defense Council • WE ACT for Environmental Justice

December 17, 2010

The Honorable Andrew Cuomo Governor-Elect Church Street Station P.O. Box 683 New York, New York 10008

Dear Governor-elect Cuomo:

Congratulations on your election. Our groups wish you success in addressing the many challenges facing New York.

We write to urge that your upcoming 2011-2012 State budget ensures that all dedicated transit funds go to transit – and are not diverted to other purposes.

That is not the case in the current budget. Twice in the last year, the Paterson Administration has raided funds dedicated solely to transit and taken a total of \$160 million for other purposes.

The diversion of dedicated transit funds in the fall of 2009 directly triggered the worst transit service cuts in memory. These included axing 36 bus routes; eliminating 570 bus stops; killing all or parts of three subway lines; and burdening millions of city and suburban riders with greater waits, more crowding, extra transfers and longer trips. Commuter rail riders have had their trains eliminated and stops added to remaining trains. Paratransit service for individuals with disabilities has been made even less convenient or, in some communities, eliminated completely

Our groups understand that New York State faces extremely serious financial woes. But raiding dedicated transit funds is poor policy. These funds were explicitly created to provide the MTA with a "stable and reliable dedicated funding source." According to its 2011 Preliminary Budget in July, the MTA estimates that its dedicated taxes are already raising hundreds of millions <u>below</u> original estimates, as illustrated in the chart below:

	<u>2010</u>	<u>2011</u>
Payroll Mobility Tax Real Estate Taxes Sales/Corporate Taxes Petroleum Business Tax	(\$386 million less) (\$112 million less) (\$33 million less) (\$32 million less)	(\$219 million less) (\$102 million less) + \$56 million (\$27 million less)
	(\$563 million less)	(\$292 million less)

(Over)

The \$160 million taken from dedicated funds were in addition to the decline in these taxes. As a result, city and suburban riders have been hit with three years of fare hikes and city riders now pay the highest fare box burden in the nation.

These taxes were enacted for a specific reason: to help pay for subway, bus and commuter operations and transit capital projects. As a matter of principle and practice, the dedicated funds should continue to serve those purposes. This is especially true: we want a vibrant transit system; one that is reliable, safe, fast, clean and can serve as a foundation for strengthening the State's economy. This same logic would apply to not diverting funds for New York's road, bridge and tunnel program.

You campaigned on a pledge of restoring honest and ethical government. What could be more basic to good governance than keeping the promise to taxpayers and transit riders that dedicated transit funds be spent for the sole purpose for which they were enacted? One quarter of the state's workforce relies on mass transit to get to work.

We urge you to ensure that all dedicated transit funds go to transit – and that the \$160 million in diverted dedicated transit funds be restored. We appreciate your considering our concerns.

Sincerely,

Paul Steely White Executive Director Transportation Alternatives

Gene Russianoff Staff Attorney and Chief Spokesman NYPIRG Straphangers Campaign

Joan Byron
Director of Sustainability and
Environmental Justice Initiative
Pratt Center for Community Development

Mary Barber Campaign Director Environmental Defense Fund

Kate Slevin Executive Director Tri-State Transportation Campaign William Henderson Executive Director PCAC to the MTA

Ricardo L. Gotla Legislative Director NY League of Conservation Voters, Inc.

Patricia Bowden President TWU Local 252

Norman Brown Legislative Director New York State Council of Machinists

Michael Cordiello President ATU Local 1181

(More)

Arthur J. Davidson

Chair

Metro North Labor Council

Dean DeVita General Chairman NCFO/SEIU 32BJ

Joe Mauro President

Bridge and Tunnel Officers Benevolent Association

I. Daneek Miller

President

ATU Local 1056

John Samuelsen

President

TWU Local 100

Andrew Sandberg Local Chairman IAMAW LL 754

Behrouz Fathi President

DC 37 Local 375

John Kaehny Executive Director Reinvent Albany

PJ Kim Director

Drum Major Institute for Public Policy

Peter H Kostmayer

CEO

Citizens Committee for New York City

Joseph Sciascia President SSOBA

Chris Silvera

Secretary-Treasurer IBT Local 808

Angelo Tanzi President

ATU Local 726

Thomas Wilson General Chairman UTU Local 1440

Bob Yaro President

Regional Plan Association

Betsey Swan President

New York State League of Women Voters

Arthur Maratea General Chairman

Transportation Communications Union

Chloe Tribich

Senior Policy Organizer Center for Working Families

Rich Kassel Senior Attorney

Natural Resources Defense Council

Cecil D. Corbin-Mark

Director of Policy Initiatives

WE ACT for Environmental Justice

cc: Hon. David Paterson

Hon. Sheldon Silver (Over)

Hon John Sampson

Hon. Dean Skelos

Hon. Carl Kruger

Hon. Martin Malave Dilan

Hon. Bill Perkins

Hon. David Gantt

Hon. Brian Kolb

Hon. Denny Farrell

Hon. Richard Brodsky

Hon. Charles J. Fuschillo Jr.

Hon. Kemp Hannon

Hon. Kenneth P LaVallle

Hon. Carl L. Marcellino

Hon. John J. Flanagan

Hon. Lee Zeldin

Hon. Jack Martins

Hon. Tom Libous

Hon. George Maziarz

Hon. Jay Walder