August 27, 2018

The Honorable Donald J. Trump President of the United States White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave., NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

On behalf of the undersigned national railway labor unions, we write to unanimously recommend and support Johnathan D. Bragg, the Vice President of the Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen (BRS), to serve as the next Labor Member on the Railroad Retirement Board (RRB). After 8 years of service, Walter A. Barrows, the current RRB Labor Member, has informed us of his intent to retire from the Board.

As you know, employees in the railroad industry are covered under a separate retirement system which is administered by the RRB. This unique system, funded solely by the industry and its employees, has provided retirement, unemployment, disability, and survivor benefits for millions of rail workers. These benefits and services are essential to the lives of rail employees and their families. To help ensure that the system protects the interests of rail workers, Section 7(a) of the Railroad Retirement Act of 1974 dictates that the President must nominate one candidate to the Board based on the "recommendations made by representatives of the employees." We strongly endorse Jonathan D. Bragg to serve as the next Labor Member of the RRB.

Mr. Bragg comes from a long family of railroaders and began his own railroad career 18 years ago as a freight conductor and later a signalman. He has climbed the leadership ranks as a Local Chairman, Grand Lodge Representative, Director of Research, and more recently assigned to represent BRS as a permanent Board Member of the National Railroad Adjustment Board. Mr. Bragg's long and accomplished career has prepared him for this role. As the Labor Member, Mr. Bragg will bring an invaluable level of experience, knowledge, and understanding of the needs of rail workers, retirees, and their families who rely on the system.

For these reasons, we strongly recommend you nominate Johnathan D. Bragg to serve as the Labor Member of the RRB as you work to ensure the agency's full board member capacity.

Sincerely,

W. D. Pucket

W.D. Pickett President Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen

en toj

Sito Pantoja General Vice President International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers

Formie R. Stephenso

Lonnie R. Stephenson International President International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

Tony Iannone Director of Railroad and Shipyard Workers Sheet Metal, Air, Rail and Transportation Workers

Condillitte

Robert Scardelletti National President Transportation Communications Union

Pm/c Can

F.L. McCann President American Train Dispatchers Association

Mansle

John Mansker Director of Railroad Division Services International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, Iron Ship Builders, Blacksmiths, Forgers and Helpers

The that

John Thacker Conference President National Conference of Firemen and Oilers, SEIU

John Previsich President Sheet Metal, Air, Rail and Transportation Workers-Transportation Division

John Samuelsen International President Transport Workers Union of America

Tind

Tim Barnes Assistant to the President UNITEHERE!

Dennis R. Pierce National President Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen

Fresher N. Sum

Freddie N. Simpson President Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees Division of the IBT

cc:

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell Senate Minority Leader Charles Schumer Chairman Lamar Alexander Ranking Member Patty Murray