## FEDERAL WORKERS ALLIANCE

COLLECTIVELY REPRESENTING OVER 300,000 FEDERAL WORKERS

November 2, 2021

Re: HSGAC Mark-Up of Nominations of Ernest W. DuBester as Chair of the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), Susan T. Grundmann as Member of the FLRA, and Kurt Rumsfeld as General Counsel of the FLRA

Dear Senator:

We, the undersigned, write as members of the Federal Workers Alliance (FWA), an alliance of more than 30 national unions that collectively represent more than 300,000 federal workers across the country, are writing regarding this week's Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee (HSGAC) mark-up of Ernest W. DuBester's and Susan T. Grundmann's nomination as Members of the Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA), and Kurt Rumsfeld's nomination for FLRA General Counsel. We urge you to vote in support of all three of these fine candidates.

In passing the Civil Service Reform Act, Congress made the specific finding that "labor organizations and collective bargaining in the civil service are in the public interest." In that vein, the FLRA is tasked with "carrying out the purpose of [Federal Service Labor Management Relations Statute.]" Unfortunately, the FLRA, as it is currently constructed, continues to produce decisions that are inherently biased against labor and the collective bargaining process. Their decisions are clearly aimed at diminishing the Federal Service Labor-Management Relations Statute meant to protect the proper balance of workplace labor rights. It is critical that there be an urgency to approving President Biden's three nominations, as any further delay in changing the current makeup of the FLRA indulges the risk of further damage.

Make no mistake about it, Ernie DuBester, Susan Grundmann and Kurt Rumsfeld all bring with them long and distinguished careers that establish them as perfect to serve in these critically important roles at the FLRA. While DuBester currently serves as FLRA Chairman, both Grundmann and Rumsfeld have the experience and knowledge necessary to join DuBester at the FLRA and hit ground running in bringing back fairness, a respect for the law, and an appreciation for our nation's civil service workers that has been absent with this body over the previous four years. Susan Grundmann has a long and distinguished career as the former MSPB Chair in the Obama Administration, and as one of the top lawyers in the nation as the former General Counsel of the National Federation of Federal Employees (NFFE). Mr. Rumsfeld also brings with him a wealth of experience, which includes serving as FLRA Assistant General Counsel for six years and currently serving as chief counsel for Chairman DuBester. All three are impeccably qualified and the unions of the FWA urge you to vote to support them.

We thank you, in advance, for your attention to this very urgent matter. Should you require any further information, please contact the Federal Workers Alliance Co-Chairs Randy Erwin at <a href="mailto:rerwin@nffe.org">rerwin@nffe.org</a> and Sarah Suszczyk@nage.org.

Sincerely,

American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO (AFT) Antilles Consolidated Education Association (ACEA)

Federal Education Association/National Education Association (FEA/NEA)

International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF)

International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAMAW)

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW)

International Brotherhood of Teamsters (IBT)

International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers (IFPTE)

International Organization of Masters, Mates and Pilots (MM&P)

Metal Trades Department, AFL-CIO (MTD)

National Association of Government Employees, SEIU (NAGE)

National Federation of Federal Employees (NFFE)

National Weather Service Employees Organization (NWSEO)

Overseas Federation of Teachers, AFT, AFL-CIO

Professional Aviation Safety Specialists, AFL-CIO (PASS)

Patent Office Professional Association (POPA)

Seafarers International Union/NMU (SIU)

Service Employees International Union (SEIU)

SPORT Air Traffic Controllers Organization (SATCO)

United Power Trades Organization (UPTO)

CC:

President Joseph R. Biden, Jr.