Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20510

March 21, 2022

Mr. Tom Linebarger Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Cummins Inc. 500 Jackson St. Columbus, Indiana 47201

Dear Mr. Linebarger,

We are writing to request your assistance in the ongoing negotiations between Cummins Inc. and the Machinists Union Local Lodge 447 to secure manufacturing jobs and invest in the long-term viability of production work at your Dedham, Massachusetts, Concord, New Hampshire, and Scarsborough, Maine locations. Machinists Union Local Lodge 447 has been on strike since February 14, 2022, and members have been without pay and benefits.

We are proud of the 36 members of Machinists Union Lodge 447 and the highly skilled work they perform in Massachusetts, New Hampshires, and Maine. As you know, union members from Lodge 447 have worked at Cummins in Massachusetts for more than 30 years, making Cummins one of the leaders and most prominent manufacturers in the country. Workers at Cummins risked the health of themselves and their families by working through a pandemic to service generators that helped keep our senior citizens in nursing homes safe and supported our frontline workers throughout New England to save lives.

We are concerned about recent proposals during negotiattions by the company that may jeopardize the workforce here in Massachusetts. This includes concerns that Cummins' management is insisting on a contract with inconsistent and subjective pay for performance policies. We implore you to carefully consider the value, institutional knowledge, and dedication of these employees and to negotiate in good faith with Machinists Union Local Lodge 447 in the coming days.

We thank you for your attention to our request and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this matter further.

Sincerely,

lighth

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Edward J Markey

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

James P. Mr. Donen

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Jula

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

let black-

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Katherine M. Clark Member of Congress

Katheine M. Clark

Anna S. Pusself

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Willin R. Kenting

William Keating Member of Congress

Stephen Lynch Member of Congress