Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

May 2, 2024

The Honorable Ken Calvert Chairman Subcommittee on Defense Committee on Appropriations H-405, The Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Betty McCollum Ranking Member Subcommittee on Defense Committee on Appropriations 1016 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Calvert and Ranking Member McCollum,

There are zero budgeted C/KC/HC/LC-130Js in the entire FY2025 USG budget for the first time in program history. We are writing to strongly urge the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Defense markup of the FY25 Defense appropriations bill add 8-16 Air National Guard (ANG)/ Air Force Reserve (AFR) C-130J aircraft, add 3-5 Navy Reserve (USNR) KC-130J to continue C/KC-130T recap, add 2 KC-130Js for USMC operational aircraft losses, and add the first 2 ANG LC-130J and \$68 million for non-recurring engineering for the ANG's new start of the LC-130J replacement of the 3 oldest LC-130Hs as they are 50-51 years of age. These actions would fill the production line at a critical time and continue the unbudgeted recapitalization of the remaining 120 legacy Air National Guard (ANG) and Air Force Reserve (AFR) C-130Hs and begin recapitalization of the 30 aging USNR C-130T fleet logistics aircraft and the 10+ oldest NYANG LC-130H "arctic ski birds."

FY2025 represents uncharted unfunded territory as another year beyond MYP-III (FY2019-2023) – a multiyear procurement program that saved more than 10 percent per aircraft and more than \$379 million over 50+ C-130J aircraft. There are zero C-130J variants budgeted for FY2025-2026, until FY2027, when the USN is planned to begin funding 30+ EC-130Js for the US Navy TACAMO "Take Charge and Move Out" strategic submarine airborne C2 fleet.

Recapitalization of the aging USNR C-130T fleet by 2030, +1 of which were included in the FY24 USN UPL and USNR's top equipment priority, would deliver capabilities sought by former Chief of Naval Operations Admiral Mike Gilday in the Navigation Plan 2022. Unfortunately, the existing C/KC-130T has a low mission capable rate. Noted by the Chief of Navy Reserve, Vice Admiral John Mustin in 2022 before the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Defense, recapitalizing the USNR C-130 fleet will provide an annual transportation cost savings of \$200 million. As the US Navy's sole source of intra-theater air logistics replenishment of its ships, new recapitalized KC-130Js would ensure longer range, more survivable Navy operations in a contested logistics environment thereby improving the combat ship fleets operations in a near-peer conflict.

The C-130J program remains the only active U.S. airlifter production line and the longest continuously running military production line in history. The current C-130J Super Hercules is the most capable tactical airlifter in the world. By design, the C-130J provides significant

operational and support savings, more operational capability per aircraft, lower life cycle costs, common logistics and training support, and improved active duty and air reserve component interoperability. A stable C-130J production line supporting current and future validated DoD requirements is the best approach to preserving the 380 suppliers across 36 states that support the 27,200 direct and indirect jobs, yielding more than \$3.7 billion of total economic impact. C-130J production is currently declining from 2020's healthy rate of 24+ aircraft per year down to 20 per year, and only continued adds can keep it from falling further. The previous strong production rates were a direct result of MYP-III as well as 64 critical bipartisan adds during FY2017-2023 Congressional appropriations cycles. A significant drop in production over the next three years could dramatically increase C-130J pricing, undermine national security and that of our allies at a dangerous time in world affairs, and erode the strength of the national supplier base when many future requirements remain unfilled.

Thank you for your consideration of this urgent request.

Sincerely,

Link

Barry Loudermilk Member of Congress

Elise M. Sofanki

Elise M. Stefanik Member of Congress

V lalo

Nick LaLota Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

David Scott Member of Congress

Andy Kim Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen Member of Congress

Lucy MCBath

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson Member of Congress

Fauld tonlo

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

ĪV

A. Drew Ferguson IV Member of Congress

Pete Sessions Member of Congress

naro

Marcus J. Molinaro Member of Congress

landrà Tennen

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

MI

Rich McCormick, MD, MBA Member of Congress

Earl I Bully Carta

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

Michael R. June

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

Nicole Malliotakis Member of Congress

Colin Z. Alfred Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Unn:

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

Auide J. Sainz

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

LH.K.

Thomas H. Kean, Jr. Member of Congress

Carol D. Miller

Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

ack (Sergema

Jack Bergman Member of Congress

Dean Phillips Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Faster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

JO.CLL

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Leiner

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

ma tos

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress

Mar. Xu

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

im Himes

Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

Brandon Williams Member of Congress

1-13

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Mial P

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

Brian K. Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Ted W. Iren

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Barry Moore Member of Congress

Patrick Ryan Member of Congress

Anthony D'Esposito Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

French Hin

French Hill Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde

Andrew S. Clyde Member of Congress

be Neguse

Member of Congress

Austin Scott Member of Congress

Biel Pascrill Jr

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

m. [.11.

Mike Collins Member of Congress

mssy Houkhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Muh h. Long

Nicholas A. Langworthy Member of Congress

Milla, Emplar

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Page 9

Lames R. Baird

James R. Baird, PhD Member of Congress

Cory Mills Member 25

Member of Congress