400 IAM Members Ratify Contract at Crown Cork & Seal

Members of the Crown Cork & Seal Negotiating Committee, pictured left to right, front row: Steve Vaubal, Debra Gwinn, K Campbell, Paul Loy and IAM Director of Collective Bargaining Tom O’Heron. Second row: Martin Gaul, Gordie Reiber, Doug Day, Abe Lincoln and Greg Heidal. Third row: Rick Mickschl, Ernie Domnie, Aaron Randolph, John Steigauf and Tom Schultz.

More than 400 IAM members across the U.S. have ratified a new three-year collective bargaining agreement with food and beverage packaging company Crown Cork & Seal.

The new agreement was passed by an overwhelming majority, and includes wage increases of two percent with a minimum of $0.45 the first year and one percent the following year. The pension plan will see a $0.25 to $3.20 per hour increase the first year, and a $0.10 to $3.30 per hour increase in 2016. 

The agreement holds the line on the cost-of-living calculation and health care costs. It calls for the creation of a joint health care committee to meet once a year to address annual concerns. It also includes better language to the company’s Interplant Job Opportunity (IPJO) program, which allows workers to transfer to other Crown facilities in the event of a layoff.

The IAM currently represents the largest number of Crown employees in North America. The new agreement covers five facilities in LaCrosse, WI; Mankato, MN; Olympia, WA; Lawrence, MA and Omaha, NE.

Three additional Crown plants, located in Oshkosh, WI; Owatonna, MN and Winchester, VA are also represented by the IAM.

“Congratulations to IAM members at Crown Cork & Seal and to the negotiating committee for an outstanding job in ensuring Crown workers a better future,” said IAM Director of Collective Bargaining Tom O’Heron. “We appreciate the willingness of Crown’s senior leadership team to work with the IAM in bringing these negotiations to a successful resolution and recognizing the importance of maintaining the cost of living calculation, better pay and retirement benefits for our members.”

The new agreement was effective April 1, 2014.

Share and Follow: