Communications Conference Honors Award Winners

Winners of the 2009 IAM Newsletter and Website Contest, Kalaski Award and Kourpias Award were honored at a special ceremony at the 2009 Communications Conference in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Winners included District Lodge 751 and Local Lodge 1781 who took top honors in General Excellence for newsletters and NFFE-IAM Federal District 1 and Local Lodge 1759 who won top honors for General Excellence for websites.

John Harrity, left, with IP Buffenbarger, right, a 30-year member of District 26 in Connecticut, won the Robert J. Kalaski Award, given in honor of distinguished and effective communication efforts promoting the mission of the labor movement. As the spokesperson for District 26, Harrity developed a relationship with state and national media that made sure the IAM’s message was heard clearly during the overseas outsourcing phenomena that swept Connecticut. Most recently, Harrity has been front and center in the fight to block Pratt & Whitney from moving two more plants out of the state.

Jane Carrigan, right, with IP Buffenbarger, right, was awarded the George J. Kourpias Award for excellence in labor journalism. Carrigan is an anchor and reporter for the Global Television Network in Vancouver. She received the award for her unbiased coverage of the men and women of Air Canada, Local Lodge 764, during a 2008 winter storm that crippled the Vancouver Airport.


“IAM Editors, Web Stewards and Communicators serve a vital role in getting our message out to members and the public,” said IAM Communications Director Rick Sloan. “We honor their courage and hard work, and extend a well-deserved thank you for everything they do.”


For a complete list of winners, click here.

Share and Follow: