IAM Commemorates Fallen on Workers Memorial Day

Worker safety is one of the most important aspects of being a union member. On Wednesday, May 1, in a ceremony held at the IAM William W. Winpisinger Education and Technology Center at Workers’ Memorial Park, the IAM remembered those who passed too soon.

Every year, the labor movement observes Workers Memorial Day to remember workers killed or injured on the job and to renew the fight for strong safety and health protections. Each day, more than 340 workers are killed, and more than 6,000 suffer injury and illness because of dangerous working conditions that are preventable.

For over five decades, unions and our supporters have relentlessly strived to fulfill that commitment, achieving workplace protections and shaping federal and state regulations that enhance job safety and preserve lives.

The Occupational Safety and Health Act went into effect in 1971 after unions raised awareness of work-related deaths, diseases, and injuries. Unions organized and demanded safer working conditions, which have saved more than 627,000 workers’ lives since the act passed.

“Despite all of our progress, we are still reminded every year of the dangerous nature of our work,” said IAM International President Brian Bryant. “We are reminded that it is our union’s most sacred duty to ensure our members’ safety.”

Initially, we remembered only those who perished from workplace tragedies and occupational ailments. Now, the IAM also extends tribute to those who committed themselves to the labor cause or indelibly influenced our union’s legacy.

“We must continue to bond together to keep our families, coworkers, and neighbors safe,” said IAM Safety and Health Director Michael Oathout. “We must hold employers accountable to keep workers safe. We must fight to protect our fundamental right to a safe job.”

To watch the ceremony, click here. To view the full photo gallery, click here.


Fallen Members: 18
Frederick M. Anderson, Jr. – TCU/IAM Local 6334
James Balk – IAM Local 2777
Albert Banks Sr. – IAM Local 1445
Matthew Carter – IAM Local 4 
Derek James Etzcorn – IAM Local 1635
Bryan Fleigle – IAM Local 175
Daniel Fumar – IAM Local 1781
Sandra Grosberger – IAM Local 175
John Hammerbacker Jr. – IAM Local 175
Sherri Harrison – IAM Local 175
Devvin Patrick Hasson – TCU/IAM Local 6004
Otha “Jay” Jones Jr. – IAM Local 2003
Kevin Lamond – IAM Local 175
Robert “Jeff” Moore – IAM Local 18
Robert H. Skinner – IAM Local 18
Christina Smith – IAM Local 1635
Danny Suafoa – IAM Local 2202/District 142
Terry Trowbridge – IAM Local 175 

Special Remembrances: 11
Retired Business Rep for IAM Local 1769/District 75 – Charles Cooper Jr.
Retired IAM Local 2003 Member – Carl “CT”  Dean
Retired GST Special Assistant – Steven Dunn
Retired Railroad Coordinator/General Chair – Mark “Flip” Filipovic
Grand Lodge Auditor – Michael Gonzales
Retired Western Territory Chief of Staff – Robert Gregory
Retired Director of Legislative and MNPL – William Holayter
Retired IAM Local 1125 Life Member – Wayne Ihrig
Retired Headquarters Resident General Vice President – George Poulin 
Retired Grand Lodge Representative – Jack Sams
Retired IAM Local  777 Member – Terry R. Sutton

Share and Follow: