IAM 2013 Scholarship Winners Announced

The 2013 IAM Scholarship competition has concluded and the winners have been announced.

Click here for the full list of recipients.

“We congratulate the winners and thank all those who participated in the 2013 competition,” said IAM Safety and Health, Apprenticeship and Scholarship Department Director Mike Flynn, whose department administers the popular program. “The IAM Scholarship program is possible because of the generosity of IAM locals, districts and other donors who contribute to the Scholarship Fund, and we thank them for their support.”

An impartial committee of educators selected 16 recipients for this year’s awards. Twelve college and two vocational school scholarships were awarded to children of members, and two scholarships went to IAM members.

Each year, the IAM also awards a special scholarship named after Roman Mayfield, a 55-year member of Seattle IAM District 751 and legendary trade unionist who passed away in 2002. The Mayfield Scholarship goes to the recipient who best represents the spirit of volunteerism and service to his or her community, which was a hallmark of Brother Mayfield. Kameron Mongold, son of Enid, OK Local Lodge 898 member Tony D. Mongold, was awarded the 2013 Mayfield Scholarship.

The three-person panel that selected the winners included Michael J. O’Leary, the Vice President for Enrollment Management at Goucher College in Baltimore; Denise Simmons Graves, a psychology professor and counselor at Montgomery College in Rockville, MD; and Julie Weismantel, who is the chair of the committee and works at the Canadian Embassy.

Application packets for the 2014 competition, with information on eligibility requirements, will be mailed to all local and district lodges later this summer and will be available to download at www.goiam.org/scholarship.

The IAM has awarded scholarships to members and children of members throughout the U.S. and Canada since 1960.

Share and Follow: