IAM Announces 2015 Scholarship Award Winners

Hannah Van Winkle
2015 Roman Mayfield Scholarship Winner

The 2015 IAM Scholarship competition has concluded and the winners have been announced.

Click here to view the full list of recipients.

“We congratulate the winners and thank all those who participated in the 2015 competition,” said IAM Safety and Health Department Director Jim Reid, whose department administers the popular program. “The IAM Scholarship program is possible because of the generosity of IAM locals, districts and other donors who contribute to the Scholarship Fund, and we thank them for their support.”

An impartial committee of educators selected 17 recipients for this year’s awards. Twelve college and three vocational school scholarships were awarded to children of members, and two scholarships went to IAM members. We congratulate the winners and thank all those who participated in the competition.

Each year, the IAM also awards a special scholarship named after Roman Mayfield, a 55-year member of Seattle IAM District 751 and legendary trade unionist who passed away in 2002. Hannah Van Winkle, daughter of Middletown, OH, Local 1943 member Terry Van Winkle, was awarded the 2015 Mayfield Scholarship. The Mayfield Scholarship goes to the recipient who best represents the spirit of volunteerism and service to his or her community, which was a hallmark of Brother Mayfield.

The IAM has always placed a high value on education, from funding scholarships for IAM members and their families to advocating for a national investment in skills training. The IAM has awarded scholarships to members and children of members throughout the U.S. and Canada since 1960.

The four-person panel that selected the winners included Julie Weismantel, chair of the committee and a former Canadian Embassy employee; Michael J. O’Leary, Vice President for Enrollment Development at Trinity College in Washington, DC; Dr. Denise Simmons Graves, psychology professor and counselor at Montgomery College in Rockville, MD; and Karen Felton, Director of Admissions at George Washington University in Washington, DC.

Click here to view the 2015 IAM Scholarship Winners.   

Share and Follow: