IAM Members Elect Top Leadership by Wide Margin

IAM members have elected the top leadership of their union by a more than a two-to-one margin. The preliminary results were announced today following a tabulation of ballots from IAM Local Lodges across the United States and Canada. The vote count was performed at IAM Headquarters in Upper Marlboro, MD under the direct supervision of Department of Labor representatives.

Click here for the preliminary results which are subject to final certification by the Department of Labor.

“IAM members made their collective voice heard and elected a diverse leadership team with the experience and capabilities to lead one of the greatest unions in North America,” said IAM International President Tom Buffenbarger. “Our members have spoken and we thank them for their support. They overwhelmingly rejected an effort to move this union backwards and we now turn our full attention to moving the IAM forward.”

IAM members in the U.S. and Canada elected incumbent officers R. Thomas Buffenbarger for International President and Robert Roach, Jr. for General Secretary-Treasurer. In voting in the United States, IAM members elected eight incumbent General Vice Presidents including Lynn D. Tucker, Jr., Robert Martinez, Jr., Philip J. Gruber, Gary R. Allen, Sito Pantoja, Mark Blondin, Diane Babineaux and Dora Cervantes.

“This election required a tremendous effort by individuals at all levels of our union,” said General Secretary-Treasurer Robert Roach, Jr. “We thank everyone involved for their hard work and professionalism which made it possible for our members to exercise their right to vote. All of you did an incredible job.”

Share and Follow: