IAM Scholarship Judges Confer to Select Winners

Seated from left, IAM Scholarship Competition Judges Julie Weismantel, Dr. Denise Simmons Graves, Karen Felton and Michael J. O’Leary. Standing, from left, IAM Safety and Health Department administrator Kerri Johnson, IAM Safety and Health Department Director Mike Flynn and Grand Lodge Representative Jim Reid.

Judges for the 2015 IAM Scholarship Competition met at IAM Headquarters in Upper Marlboro, MD to choose the 2015 Scholarship winners from a field of more than 300 entries. Winners will be contacted first and the will be announced in early summer.

The competition is open each year to all active IAM members who wish to further their education and also to their eligible minor dependents entering college.

“The scholarship program is a great way for children of IAM members, and for members themselves, to continue their education,” said IAM Safety and Health Department Director Mike Flynn, whose department administers the popular program.

An impartial committee of educators selected 17 recipients for this year’s awards. The four-person panel included Julie Weismantel, chair of the committee and a former Canadian Embassy employee; Michael J. O’Leary, Vice President for Enrollment Development at Trinity College in Washington, DC; Doctor Denise Simmons Graves, psychology professor and counselor at Montgomery College in Rockville, MD; and Karen Felton, Director of Admissions at George Washington University in Washington, DC.

Delegates to the 1960 IAM Grand Lodge Convention first established the IAM Scholarship Fund. Donations from IAM Lodges and members make these awards possible.

For more information, visit goiam.org/iamscholarship.

Share and Follow: