2024 IAM Legislative Conference Begins in Nation’s Capital with a Strong Focus on Workers’ Rights

The 2024 IAM Legislative Conference started on Monday, June 17, in Washington, D.C. This significant conference is bringing together more than 300 delegates from districts and locals across the United States to discuss critical legislative and political issues affecting our members and the labor movement as a whole.

The conference opened with impactful speeches from IAM International President Brian Bryant and IAM National Political and Legislative Director Hasan Solomon. They welcomed IAM delegates and outlined a proactive agenda for the week, emphasizing legislative priorities and strategies to enhance workers’ rights and protections.

“Our power comes from you – the membership. It comes from our unity, our diversity, and our power in numbers,” said Bryant. “It comes from aerospace workers, defense workers, airline workers, railroad workers, manufacturing workers, federal workers, healthcare workers, and so much more… standing together as one to demand respect.”

WATCH: IAM International President Brian Bryant Opening 2024 IAM Legislative Conference

The IAM Legislative Conference is a crucial event for the union. It provides a platform for members to interact with policymakers, deliberate on policy, and advocate for an agenda that upholds workers’ rights and advances working people’s priorities.

“Through our advocacy, we safeguard and champion the rights of our members, making it known to Congress that our union embodies not merely the work we do but the spirit of American workers,” said Solomon.

PHOTOS: 2024 IAM Legislative Conference

The first two days of the 2024 IAM Legislative Conference included important speakers such as:

  • Brian Bryant, IAM International President
  • Hasan Solomon, IAM National Political and Legislative Director
  • U.S. Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-Md.)
  • U.S. Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.)
  • U.S. Sen. Ed Markey (D-Mass.)
  • U.S. Sen. Bob Casey (D-Pa.)
  • Amit Bose, Federal Railroad Administration Administrator 
  • Owen Herrnstadt, Export-Import Board of Directors Member
  • U.S. Sen. Laphonza Butler (D-Ca.)
  • Jody Calemine, AFL-CIO Director of Advocacy
  • Lori Wallach, Rethink Trade Director

Twitter Thread: https://x.com/MachinistsUnion/status/1802731219211165967

Share and Follow: