Staff Changes at IAM Headquarters

IAM International President Tom Buffenbarger this week announced several staff changes at IAM Headquarters to become effective January 1, 2010.

“At the end of this year, we say goodbye to some good friends and dedicated Machinists as they retire after many years of devoted service to the IAM,” said Buffenbarger.

Among those retiring are: Maria Cordone, who has given 41 years to the IAM in a variety of roles including the last 12 years as director of the IAM Community Services & Retirees Department; Cheryl Eastburn, who became the first director of the newly-formed Women’s Department in 1997; General Counsel Allison Beck, who fought for 30 years representing the IAM in the courts; Jim Lautar, who became an IAM member in 1975 and was appointed IAM National Pension Fund Coordinator in 2008 and Tony Chapman, former director of IAM CARES and current director of IAM Department of Employment Services. Also retiring effective January 1, 2010 will be Frank Santos, who served the IAM for 32 years, the last six as Aerospace Coordinator; Woodworkers Department Director Rod Kelty,  who has been with us since the International Woodworkers of America merged with the IAM in 1994, and current Guide Dogs of America President Jay Bormann, who has been an IAM member and representative in many capacities since 1969.

To ensure IAM members, locals and districts continue to receive the levels of support and service they deserve, the following changes will also take effect on January 1, 2010: Winpisinger Center Education Representative Charlie Micallef will become the new Director of Community Services & Retirees Department and will also take on the duties of the Employment Services Department; Executive Assistant Diane Babineaux will take on the responsibilities of the Women’s & Human Rights Department; Associate General Counsel Chris Corson will become the IAM’s new General Counsel. Additionally, Southern Territory GLR Terry Smith will assume the responsibilities of Aerospace Coordinator, Assistant Director Bill Street will become Director of the IAM Woodworkers Department and Eastern Territory AA Dale Hartford will serve as President of Guide Dogs of America.

Share and Follow: