TCU Sends Letter to Secretary of Transportation – We Support High Speed Rail Funds for the North East Corridor

TCU President Bob Scardelletti sent a letter to Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood in support of the ten Northeastern Senators request to redirect the $2.4 billon in High-Speed Intercity Rail Passenger funds to the Northeast Corridor that were rejected by Governor Scott of Florida.

“This would mark a major step forward in building the Northeast Corridor for the future,” Scardelletti continued. “Aside from the good paying jobs this service will create, it will also be a much needed travel alternative for the traveling public.  New high-speed trains would divert riders from highways and will reduce both congestion and our dependence on foreign oil.”

“This is what I am talking about…Your Vote Counts! While many in Congress want to strip all funding away from Amtrak, here are ten Senators working to keep and add good paying, union, middle class railroad jobs.”

The ten Senators are: Tom Carper (D-DE), John F. Kerry (D-MA), Joseph I. Lieberman (I-CT), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Kirsten E. Gillibrand (D-NY), Frank R. Lautenberg (D-NJ), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Christopher A. Coons (D-DE), Barbara A. Milkulski (D-MD), Benjamin L. Cardin (D-MD)

Click here to view the TCU letter to Secretary LaHood.

Share and Follow: