NFFE-IAM Delegates Elect New Executive Council

The National Federation of Federal Employees (NFFE-IAM) Federal District 1, representing 110,000 federal employees in 40 separate departments and agencies government-wide, announced the election of its new National Executive Council, the union’s governing body consisting of the National President, National Secretary-Treasurer, and seven National Vice Presidents.

NFFE-IAM delegates attending the 49th National Convention in Portland, OR elected National President William R. Dougan and National-Secretary Treasurer William D. Fenaughty to serve their first full terms in office. Both Dougan and Fenaughty assumed office following the untimely passing of long-time NFFE National President Richard N. Brown in June of 2009.

Dougan and Fenaughty have committed significant resources to bolster the union’s recruitment and communications infrastructure, adding staff and investing in new technologies to engage current and potential members. Going forward, they pledge to utilize these new strengths in their bid to protect federal workers from the looming threats of sequestration, hiring freezes, and compensation cuts.

“It is an honor to be elected to serve my union brothers and sisters for another four years,” said Dougan. “In such difficult times for federal workers, it is important that your leadership not sit on its hands, but roll up its sleeves. We are building a union that is growing in the face of decline, winning on Capitol Hill in the face of a determined opposition, and speaking forcefully in your defense when few else have the courage to do so.”

For the office of National Vice President, the following candidates were elected: Robert Arnold, U.S. Passport Service; Mark Davis, U.S. Forest Service (retired); Patricia La Sala, Department of Veteran’s Affairs; Elizabeth McDargh, Department of Housing and Urban Development; John R. Obst, U.S. Forest Service (retired); Timothy Ostrowski, Department of the Army; Eric Plimmer, U.S. Forest Service.

Share and Follow: