Senate Committee votes to move Westmoreland

Yesterday, the Senate Commerce Committee voted largely along party lines to approve Lynn Westmoreland for a five-year term on the Amtrak Board of Directors. Final approval of Mr. Westmoreland will now head to the full Senate where he’s likely to get confirmed. It’s unclear when the final vote will occur. A few weeks ago, TCU posted an article about Mr. Westmoreland’s poor voting record on Amtrak while he was a member of Congress. 

All Republicans on the Committee voted for confirmation through a voice vote, but many Democrats asked to be recorded as a No vote on Westmoreland. 

No Votes:

Sen. Cory Booker (NJ)

Sen. Maggie Hassan (NH)

Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto (NV)

Sen. Ed Markey (MA)

Sen. Tammy Duckworth (IL)

Sen. Maria Cantwell (WA)

Sen. Richard Blumenthal (CT)

Sen. Gary Peters (MI)

Sen. Tammy Baldwin (WI)

Sen. Brian Schatz (HI)


Democrats that did NOT ask to be recorded as a No vote:

Sen. Bill Nelson (FL)

Sen. Tom Udall (NM)

Sen. Amy Klobuchar (MN)

Share and Follow: