Resource & Action

IMPORTANT NOTICE!  

 

 

Elderly Housing Development & Operations Corporation

 

_________________________________

Drug coverage (Part D)

https://www.medicare.gov/part-d/index.html

_________________________________

Social Security and Medicare Information

https://www.ssa.gov/medicare/

__________________________

Download FYI and FAQ’s on Social Security and Medicare

https://www.ssa.gov/pubs/EN-05-10043.pdf

____________________________

Medicare Toolkit 2016

____________________________

Medicare Under Attack 2016

Click Benefits.gov for answers to your questions about disability benefits or assistance.  Then click “State

 WISER Women– “Improving the long-term financial security of all women through education and advocacy” For more information on financial security for women please visit http://wiserwomen.org/

Click pbgc.gov for answers to your Pension Benefit questions.

RESOURCES

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

 A

Aging:

Aging & Disabilities Services Administration (Washington State): http://www.aasa.dshs.wa.gov

Alliance for Retired Americans: http://www.retiredamericans.org    

American Association of Retired Persons: http://www.aarpmembership.org/aarp/index2.html?CMP=KNC-MBR&SiteID=143936   

American Society on Aging: http://www.asaging.org/index.cfm

Elder Care Locator:                 http://www.eldercare.gov/Eldercare.NET/Public/Index.aspx             

Elder Net: http://www.eldernet.com

Elder Web: http://www.elderweb.org

Medicare: http://www.medicare.gov/                  1-800-MEDICARE 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

National Academy on an Aging Society: http://www.agingsociety.org/agingsociety

National Active and Retired Federal Employees Association (NARFE):               http://www.narfe.org

National Council on Aging: http://www.ncoa.org

National Council on Independent Living: http://www.ncil.org

National Institute on Aging: http://www.nia.nih.gov

National Senior Citizens Law Center: http://www.nsclc.org

National Older Women’s League: http://www.owl-national.org/Welcome.html

Pension Rights Center: http://www.pensionrights.org

Social Security Administration: http://www.ssa.gov/

Air Ambulance:

Aero Care: http://www.aerocare.com  

Air Life Line: http://www.air-lifeline.com

Air Ambulance : http://www.airambulance.net

Alcohol Abuse

For 12-Step Support Groups See 12-Step Recovery Programs

Adult Children of Alcoholics:  http://adultchildren.org

Alcohol Abuse – Self Screen On-line: http://www.alcoholscreening.org            

Children of Alcoholics Foundation: http://www.coaf.org

MADD Mothers against Drunk Driving:  http://www.madd.org

Return on Investment (EAP)

Alcohol cost calculator – business: http://www.alcoholcostcalculator.org/business

Alcohol cost calculator – health plans: http://alcoholcostcalculator.org/healthplans

Alcohol cost calculator – kids: http://www.alcoholcostcalculator.org/kids

Alcohol cost calculator – return on investment: http://www.alcoholcostcalculator.org/roi

Treatment Facility Locator: http://www.addictionsearch.com  http://findtreatment.samhsa.gov

Allergic Disorders

American Academy of Allergy Asthma and Immunology: http://www.aaaai.org

American Latex Allergy Association: http://www.latexallergyresources.org

Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America: http://www.aafa.org

Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Network: http://www.foodallergy.org

National Heart, Blood and Lung Institute: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov

National Organization for Rare Disorders: http://www.rarediseases.org

National Food and Drug Administration (FDA): http://www.fda.gov

Alzheimer’s Disease

Alzheimer’s Association: http://www.alz.org/index.asp

Alzheimer’s Disease Education and Referral Center: http://www.nia.nih.gov/alzheimers

Alzheimer’s Hotline: 1-800-272-3900

American Health Assistance Foundation: http://www.ahaf.org

Anxiety Disorders

Anxiety Disorders Association of America: http://www.adaa.org

Arthritis

Arthritis Foundation: http://www.arthritis.org

 

 B

 

Bereavement/Terminal Illness

Association for Pet Loss and Bereavement: http://www.aplb.org

Children’s Bereavement Center: http://www.childbereavement.org

Compassion in Dying: http://www.compassionandchoices.org

Compassionate Friends: http://www.compassionatefriends.org

Growth House: http://www.growthhouse.org/death.html

Jewish Bereavement Project:                 http://www.jewishbereavement.com

National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement: http://www.cincinnatichildrens.org/svc/alpha/s/school-crisis/default.htm

Rainbows: http://www.rainbows.org

SHARE/Pregnancy & Infant Loss Support: http://www.nationalshareoffice.com

Blindness

American Foundation for the Blind: http://www.afb.org

Blind.Net: http://www.blind.net/                         

Blinded Veterans Association: http://www.bva.org

Foundation Fighting Blindness: http://www.blindness.org

Lighthouse International: http://www.lighthouse.org

National Association for the Visually Handicapped: http://www.navh.org

Prevent Blindness America: http://www.preventblindness.org

 C

Caregiving

Family Caregiver Alliance : http://www.caregiver.org

National Alliance for Caregiving : http://www.caregiving.org

National Family Caregiver Association :                http://www.nfcacares.org    

Caring

Caring Across Generations: http://caringacrossgenerations.org

Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

Chronic Fatigue & Immune Dysfunction Syndrome Association of America : http://www.cfids.org

Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (Centers for Disease Control): http://www.cdc.gov/cfs           

Co-Cure:http://www.co-cure.org

Chronic Pain

American Chronic Pain Association: http://www.theacpa.org

American Pain Society: http://www.ampainsoc.org/advocacy/pediatric.htm

Chronic Pain Support Group:  http://www.chronicpainsupport.org

National Headache Foundation: http://www.headaches.org

Clinical Trials

Federal and Privately Supported Medical Clinical Trials: http://www.clinicaltrials.gov

Community Services

AFL-CIO People Who Help Directory (Handbook): https://aflcio.org/about/our-unions-and-allies

Community Tool Box: http://ctb.ku.edu/en/default.aspx#.TptyirpSH88.facebook

Service Learning: http://www.servicelearning.org/what-service-learning#.TpySyixQ5q0.facebook

IAM Community Services Department: https://www.goiam.org/departments/headquarters/community-services/

United Way of America: http://national.unitedway.org/myuw

Dial 211 for Essential Community Services: http://www.fcc.gov/cgb/consumerfacts/211.html

Consumer Resources

American Council on Science and Health: http://www.acsh.org 

AARP Fraud Prevention Handbook: http://www.aarp.org/content/dam/aarp/home-and-family/asian-community/2016/11/2016-fraud-prevention-handbook-aarp.pdf

Better Business Bureau: http://welcome.bbb.org

Coalition against Insurance Fraud: http://www.insurancefraud.org

Consumer Action: http://www.consumer-action.org

Consumer Action Handbook:  http://www.usa.gov/consumer-action-handbook/order-form.shtml

Consumer Fraud Reporting:http://www.consumerfraudreporting.org

Consumer Information Catalogue :http://clinton4.nara.gov/WH/Services/Agency/gsa.html

Consumer Law Page: http://www.consumerlawpage.com

Consumers Union:http://www.consumersunion.org

Consumer World: http://www.consumerworld.org

Federal Citizen Information Center: http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov

National Consumer Law Center: http://www.consumerlaw.org

National Consumers League: http://www.nclnet.org

U.S. Consumer Net, Inc.: http://www.usconsumernet.net

Credit Issues

AARP Fraud Prevention Handbook: http://www.aarp.org/content/dam/aarp/home-and-family/asian-community/2016/11/2016-fraud-prevention-handbook-aarp.pdf

Consumer Credit Counseling Service (CCCS): http://www.cccsatl.org

Credit Report – Equifax Credit Bureau:  http://www.equifax.com

Credit Report – Experian: http://www.experian.com

Credit Report – TransUnion:   http://www.transunion.com

Union Plus Consumer Credit Counseling: http://www.unionplus.org/

 D

Deafness

American Sign Language Browser:http://commtechlab.msu.edu/sites/aslweb/browser.htm         

 American Society for Deaf Children: http://www.deafchildren.org/default.aspx

Deaf Resource Library: http://www.deaflibrary.org

Hand Speak: http://www.handspeak.com

Depression

Befrienders Worldwide:http://www.befrienders.org

Depression – National Institute of Mental Health: http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/depression/index.shtml

Families for Depression Awareness: http://www.familyaware.org

Mental Health America: http://www.nmha.org

National Alliance on Mental Illness: http://www.nami.org

National Hope Line Network:                 http://www.hopeline.com

Obsessive Compulsive Foundation :http://www.ocfoundation.org

Diabetes

American Diabetes Association: http://www.diabetes.org/                 

National Diabetes Information Clearing House: http://diabetes.niddk.nih.gov/ 

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive Kidney Diseases: http://www2.niddk.nih.gov

Disability

Americans with Disabilities Act: http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/adahom1.htm

Americans with Disabilities Act:  http://www.ada.gov

Amputee-Online.Com: http://www.amputee-online.com

Amputee Coalition of America:http://www.amputee-coalition.org

Disability Technical Assistance Center: 1-800 949-4232

Disability and Business Technical Assistance Center: http://www.adata.org/                   

Disabled American Veterans:                 http://www.dav.org

Job Accommodation Network: http://www.dol.gov/odep/programs/job.htm

Paralysis and Spinal Cord Injuries: http://www.paralysis.org

Rehabilitation Center for Assistive Technology: http://www.catea.org

Service DogsCanine Companions for Independence:http://www.caninecompanions.org

Delta Society: http://www.deltasociety.org

Guide Dogs of America: http://www.guidedogsofamerica.org

United Way of America: http://national.unitedway.org

U.S. Office of Disability Employment Policy: http://www.dol.gov/odep

Disaster and Emergency

Alert Net: http://www.alertnet.org

American Red Cross: http://www.redcross.org   

Community Services Department, IAMAW: https://www.goiam.org/departments/headquarters/community-services/

Disaster Handbook: http://disaster.ifas.ufl.edu

Disaster Preparedness: http://www.72hours.org

Emergency Net: http://www.emergency.com

Earthquakes

Earthquake Preparation Advice (American Rescue Team):http://www.amerrescue.org/quakprep.htm

Prepare for Earthquakes: http://www.prepareforearthquakes.com

U.S. Geological Survey Earthquake Hazards Program: http://earthquake.usgs.gov

Home Safety

Home Safety Council: http://www.homesafetycouncil.org/index.aspx              

Hurricanes

National Hurricane Center : http://www.nhc.noaa.gov

Hurricane Watch Net: http://www.hwn.org

Tornadoes

National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration: http://www.noaawatch.gov/themes/severe.php

Tornado Project On-line: http://www.tornadoproject.com

Drug Abuse

For 12-Step Support Groups See 12-Step Recovery Programs

ARF.ORG: http://arf.org        

Canadian Center on Substance Abuse: http://www.ccsa.ca/ENG/Pages/Home.aspx

Canadian Foundation for Drug Policy: http://www.cfdp.ca

Drug Abuse Resistance Education (D.A.R.E.): http://www.dare.com/

Drug Policy Alliance:http://www.drugpolicy.org/homepage.cfm

Drug Self-Screening On-line: http://drugscreening.org

In Search of the Big Bang – What is Crack Cocaine?: http://cocaine.org/index.html

KCI – the Anti-Meth Site: http://www.kci.org/meth_info/links.htm

Life or Meth: http://www.lifeormeth.org

Mothers against Misuse & Abuse: http://www.mamas.org

National Alcohol and Drug Addiction Treatment Information Center:  http://www.addictioncareoptions.com

National Institute on Drug Abuse: http://www.nida.nih.gov

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration: http://www.samhsa.gov

Substance Abuse Treatment Facility Locator: http://www.findtreatment.samhsa.gov

Treatment Facility Locator: http://www.addictionsearch.com  ; http://findtreatment.samhsa.gov

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime: http://www.unodc.org      

 E

Education

IAMAW Members Free College Benefits

Elder Care & Abuse

Administration on Aging: http://www.aoa.gov                    

American Association for Home Care: http://www.aahomecare.org

American Society on Aging: http://www.asaging.org/index.cfm 

ElderWeb: http://www.elderweb.com/home

H.E.L.P.: http://www.help4srs.org

National Committee for the Prevention of Elder Abuse: http://www.preventelderabuse.org

National Council on Independent Living:http://www.ncil.org

National Institute on Aging: http://www.nia.nih.gov

National Resource Center for Safe Aging: http://www.safeaging.org

Epilepsy Ontario: http://www.epilepsyontario.org      

 F 

Financial Problems

For Consumer Credit Problems See Credit Issues

AARP Fraud Prevention Handbook: http://www.aarp.org/content/dam/aarp/home-and-family/asian-community/2016/11/2016-fraud-prevention-handbook-aarp.pdf

Financial Problems in Marriage: http://www.saveyourmarriage.marriagehealth.com/Financial_Problems_in_Marriage.html

How to Manage Your Debt (Union Plus):http://www.uniondebthelp.org

How to Work Through Financial Problems: http://www.ehow.com/how_2067527_work-through-financial-problems.html?ref=fuel

Marriage Problems or Money Problems?: http://marriage.families.com/blog/marriage-problems-or-money-problems 

Money Wise: Manage Your Money Wisely:  http://www.consumer-action.org/downloads/english/2013_MoneyMgmt_EN.pdf

Money Wise: Keeping Your Home-Protect Your Investment:http://www.consumer-action.org/downloads/english/2013_KeepingHome_En.pdf

National Relief Hotlines:http://www.careconnectusa.org/pdf/CareConnect_EAP.pdf

Women’s Institute for a Secure Retirement (WISER): http://www.wiserwomen.org/

Funeral Planning

FuneralPlan.Com: http://www.funeralplan.com

 G

Grief

GriefNet.Org: http://www.griefnet.org               

Grief Recovery Institute: http://www.grief-recovery.com

Grief Step Programs: http://www.griefsupport.org

 H    

Health, General

Alzheimer’s Association: http://www.alz.org/

Center for Disease Control and Prevention: https://www.cdc.gov/

Food and Drug Administration: https://www.fda.gov/

Guide to Benefits for Seniors: http://www.n4a.org/Files/Guide-to-Benefits%20508%20Compliant.pdf

Healthy City Resources (California):http://www.healthycity.org

Links to more than 1250 Web sites: http://www.healthfinder.gov

Med-Line (National Library of Medicine): http://www.nlm.nih.gov

National Institute of Health: https://www.nih.gov/

Senior Health: https://nihseniorhealth.gov/

Heart Disease

American Heart Association: http://www.americanheart.org/presenter.jhtml?identifier=1200000

Heart/Stroke Health Self Test (My Life Check): http://50.56.33.51/mlc01/main_en_US.html

National Heart, Blood and Lung Institute: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov

Hepatitis

Hepatitis C Information Central: http://hepatitis-central.com

Hepatitis Foundation International: http://www.hepfi.org

Hepatitis (Medline Plus): http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/hepatitis.html

Viral Hepatitis (CDC): http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/diseases/hepatitis

Home Care

Seniors Helping Seniors: http://www.seniorshelpingseniors.com/Index.aspx

Hospice

American Hospice Foundation: http://www.americanhospice.org

Hospice.Net: http://www.hospicenet.org

Hospice Directory: http://www.hospicedirectory.org

Hospice Foundation of America: http://www.hospicefoundation.org

National Hospice Organization: http://www.nhpco.org/templates/1/homepage.cfm

 I

Internet Addiction

The Center for Internet Addiction: http://www.netaddiction.com

 L

Legal Issues

American Civil Liberties Union: http://www.aclu.org

Free Legal Advice: http://www.freeadvice.com ; http://www.lawguru.com ; http://www.nolo.com/index.cfm ; http://www.facade.com/lawyers

Legal Aid Services: http://www.legalaidservices.com

Legal Documents On-line: https://www.legaldocs.com

National Legal Aid and Defender Organization: http://www.nlada.org

Union Plus Legal Service: http://unionprivilege.com/benefits/legal

 

 M

Medicare & Medicaid

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services: http://www.cms.hhs.gov

U.S. Government Information Site: http://www.medicare.gov

Medicare Resources (Social Security Online): https://www.ssa.gov/medicare/

P

 

 R

Red Cross

American Red Cross: http://www.redcross.org

Retiree Activism:

Alliance for Retired Americans (ARA): https://retiredamericans.org/

Guidelines for Establishing IAMAW Retiree Clubs:

IAMAW Retiree Class Schedules

Volunteer for Organizing

 S

Sleep Disorders

National Sleep Foundation: https://sleepfoundation.org/

Neurology Channel: http://www.neurologychannel.com/sleepdisorders

Sleep Disorders (Medline Plus): http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/sleepdisorders.html

SleepNet.Com: http://www.sleepnet.com

Stress

American Institute of Stress: http://www.stress.org

International Critical Incident Stress Foundation: http://www.icisf.org

Stress (Medline Plus): http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/stress.html

Understanding Stress: http://www.helpguide.org/mental/stress_signs.htm

Stroke

National Stroke Association: http://www.stroke.org/site/PageNavigator/HOME

Stroke (American Heart Association): http://www.americanheart.org/presenter.jhtml?identifier=4755

T

 

U

 

 V

Veterans

Directory of Veterans Organizations: http://www1.va.gov/vso/index.cfm?template=view

Veterans Crisis Line: http://veteranscrisisline.net/Default.aspx