TCU Leaders attend Legislative Conference & Lobby Congress

A packed house for the 2017 IAM Legislative Conference in Washington, DC.


Last week (May 8-10), TCU/IAM leaders from across the country came to Washington, DC, to attend the 2017 Machinists Legislative Conference. Attendees heard from various congressional speakers including Senators Angus King (I – ME), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Chris Murphy (D-CT), and Jeff Merkley (D-OR). They also heard from Congressmen Anthony Brown and Jamie Raskin of Maryland. 

TCU National Vice President & Legislative Director Ron Kloos addressed the conference to discuss the tough reality of the years ahead, including the various challenges railroaders might face. 

On Tuesday, 200 machinists packed the United States Senate to rally in support of the Keep Our Pension Promises Act (KOPPA). They were joined by author of the bill Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-VT), and two of the bill’s cosponsors in Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) and Sen. Al Franken (D-MN).

TCU/IAM leaders then took to the Hill to lobby Congress to fully fund Amtrak, protect the health and safety of railroad workers, and to defend labor rights at all costs. 

Below are some pictures from last week’s exciting conference:


TCU National Vice President & Legislative Director Ron Kloos addressing Legislative Conference.

Asst. National Legislative Director Bill Kelaher, Asst. National Reps. Sal Rodriguez and Katrina Coleman.

Asst. National Legislative Director Mark Taylor and NVP Ron Kloos.

IAM Legislative Rep. Monica Silbas and TCU Legislative Assistant Dave Arouca registering attendees.

TCU Leaders meeting with House Railroads Subcommittee Staff Director (Dems) Jennifer Homendy.

ANLD Mark Taylor and Congressman Anthony Brown (MD-4th)

Sen. Chris Murphy (D-CT) addressing Legislative Conference

TCU Asst. National Rep. Mitch Canter and others Machinists members meeting Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-8th)

Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-8th) addressing the Legislative Conference.

Longtime IAM Asst. Legislative & Political Director Bruce Olsen announces retirement and addresses conference. (Congrats Bruce! We’ll Miss You!)

NVP Ron Kloos speaks with Machinists members about TCU priorities.

Sen. Angus King (I-ME) addresses Legislative Conference.

Senator Jeff Merkley (D-OR) addresses Legislative Conference.

TCU Local Chairmen Greg Kocialski and Dennis Proulx meeting with NVP Jack Dinsdale.

TCU NR Charles Jackson, ANR Sal Rodriguez (and their dates), with LC Greg Kocialski.

Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA) attends IAM Congressional Reception.

TCU Retiree (and NARVRE Legislative Director) Gary Faley, TCU National President Bob Scardelletti, NVP Ron Kloos, and ANLD Bill Kelaher attend Congressional Reception.

ANLD Mark Taylor and Local Chairman Anthony Stevens.

NR Charles Jackson, ANR Sal Rodriguez, Legislative Asst. David Arouca, and NVP Jack Dinsdale, lobbying Congress on TCU priorities.










Share and Follow: