CLUW Convention Highlights

CLUW Conv. Highlidghts15th Biennial Convention concluded in Los Angeles, CA, after four days of collaborating on ways to strengthen the labor movement and nurture future female union leaders. This year’s theme was titled “The Rising Tide of Change: Activism, Leadership – Union Women!” Delegates from across the country participated in workshops and panel discussions on networking and developing ideas for strengthening the voice of women in the workplace.

The convention agenda included speakers, awards and the election of National Executive Board members. IAM Executive Assistant Diane Babineaux was elected National Vice President to the CLUW National Officers Council. Retired IAM member Joyce Ribbert of Local 837A in Hazelwood, MO, received the Clara Day Award for her continued involvement in her local and community. And, Local 1260 Educator Bonnie Polser, of New Holstein, WI, was granted the Gloria T. IAM CLUW CaucusJohnson Women in Union Leadership Scholarship.

Additionally, the IAM delegates gathered for a dinner caucus where issues were discussed and 5 IAM members were elected to represent our union on the CLUW National Executive Board.  Those elected were:  Bobbie Betonti, LL 2763; Nancylee Waters, LL 700; Victoria Cheek, LL 1833; Lois Williams, LL 2909; and Diane Tomevi, LL 1040.  The Alternate Delegates elected were Terri Myette, LL 751F; Hazel Powers, LL 751F; Linda Abercrombie, LL 774; Cynthia Truelove, LL 1886 and Cassandra Reicher, LL 774.  Shirley Dickes, LL 700 was elected Alternate to the Alternate.

Share and Follow: