The IAM Executive Council
The nine members of the IAM's Executive Council  direct IAM affairs between conventions. The council is elected every four years by secret ballot.

Go ToĽ Home|Departments|IAM Website

The IAM Executive Council
R. Thomas Buffenbarger International President

Warren Mart General Secretary-Treasurer

Lee Pearson
GVP Western Territory

Dave Ritchie
GVP Canada

Robert V. Thayer
GVP Headquarters

Robert Roach, Jr. GVP Transportation

Lynn Tucker  GVP Eastern Territory

Robert Martinez GVP Southern Territory

James E. Brown GVP Midwest Territory


Warren L. Mart
General Secretary-Treasurer
Warren L. Mart first joined the IAM in 1966, as a member of Local Lodge 1900, when he was hired on as a welder at Arkla Air Conditioning, Evansville, Indiana. He served the local as an IAM Shop Steward and as President, then later transferred to Local Lodge 1955 which became Local Lodge 2186 and then Local Lodge 153.

In 1980, he was elected Directing Business Representative of IAM District Lodge 153, Evansville, Indiana. In that capacity, Brother Mart also served on the Mayor=s Labor Advisory Board; the United Way of Southwestern Indiana and the Evansville Leadership Board. In 1988, Mart was elected as a Vice President of the Indiana State AFL-CIO. He also served as Vice President of the Southern Indiana Central Labor Council, and Secretary-Treasurer and President of the Indiana State Council of Machinists.

Mart was appointed as a Special Representative in 1987, and as a Grand Lodge Representative in 1989. His assignments included: servicing and organizing members and handling national coordinated bargaining with the Square D Company and with Rockwell. He was elected as a General Vice President in 1997 and assigned to direct IAM programs and activities in the union=s Eastern Territory, headquartered in Cincinnati, Ohio.

In August 2003, he was elected as IAM General Secretary-Treasurer.

Mart and his wife, Karen, have one daughter, Tracey and one grandson, Kaleb.