The IAM Executive Council
The nine members of the IAM's Executive Council  direct IAM affairs between conventions. The council is elected every four years by secret ballot.

Go ToĽ Home|Departments|IAM Website

The IAM Executive Council
R. Thomas Buffenbarger International President

Warren Mart General Secretary-Treasurer

Lee Pearson
GVP Western Territory

Dave Ritchie
GVP Canada

Robert V. Thayer
GVP Headquarters

Robert Roach, Jr. GVP Transportation

Lynn Tucker  GVP Eastern Territory

Robert Martinez GVP Southern Territory

James E. Brown GVP Midwest Territory


R. Thomas Buffenbarger
International President
The son of an IAM member, Tom Buffenbarger assumed his first IAM leadership post in 1970, at age 20, when he was elected steward of his apprenticeship group at the General Electric jet engine group, IAM LL912, Evendale, Ohio.

Seven years later, Tom Buffenbarger was elected as a Business Representative for IAM District 34, Cincinnati. In 1980 he was appointed as an IAM Special Representative for the Great Lakes Territory and three years later became Administrative Assistant to the General Vice President for that territory.

Buffenbarger came to IAM Headquarters in 1986 to work in the IAM Organizing Department and two years later, was appointed Executive Assistant to the International President. He served in that position under International Presidents William Winpisinger and George Kourpias.

From 1991to 1997 Buffenbarger served as IAM General Vice President at Headquarters, functioning as chief of staff of all Headquarters operations. He was elected to the office of International President in 1997. Born Dec., 1950. Tom and his wife, Linda, have two children.